makeLab™ blog


Best to build it . . . NOW! by Ellen
November 29, 2010, 2:01 pm
Filed under: makeLab Student Post

Can you be an architect without having built anything with your own hands?  You can, but I don’t think it is a good idea.  While working towards becoming an architect, I am appreciating the time spent on my project in the makeLab.  I have learned how to 3-dimensionally model my project using Rhinoceros (a nurbs modeling software) with a plug-in called Grasshopper.  I was then able to take those models, physically print them on the 3D printer and build them on the ShopBot CNC as scaled down prototypes and as a full-scale installation.  This is a process I have never experienced until now.

 

Modeling with Grasshopper: By lofting curves and connecting points along them I was able to develop the form of the Arch.

Modeling with Rhinoceros: After making the Grasshopper geometry into Rhino geometry I used Rhino to break down the arch and explore how it could be built.

Prototypes on the 3D printer: The 3D printer was an amazing tool to use.  In just a few hours I had a physical model in my hand that I was trying to visualize using Rhino.  I was able to photograph the model and then sketch directly on them to further develop ideas on how to construct the arch at a larger scale.

Prototypes on the CNC: When I started prototyping on the CNC I tried double milling to create individual beams that would be combined to make the arch.  After that idea was exhausted, I revisited the sketches and 3D print and came up with another way to construct the arch.  This method involved layers that interlocked with the outer most support; the skewer.  This worked!

Full Scale on the CNC: At full scale I had to rethink the arch again.  I developed a method of milling components that would create large X beams (similar to the layers used in the prototype).  By laying out all the components on the computer in Rhino I was able to use as little plywood as possible.  I placed each part within one bit width of each other and tacked each part down with screws.  The result is a set of RhinoCAM files that can be run on nine sheets of plywood to build one arch. Here’s hoping everything will come together as planned.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By Ellen Rotter

emrotter@gmail.com

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

